866-806-6156 (9 am - 5pm ET)
2005 Aviation Safety Counselor of the Year
November 20, 2004 - The FAA, in cooperation with the General Aviation Awards Program, recently named MCFI Michael Church as the 2005 National Aviation Safety Counselor of the Year.  A resident of Costa Mesa, California, he has been a flight instructor for 35 years and has served as an Aviation Safety Counselor (ASC) for more than 10 of those years.  Church ([email protected]) is the chief CFI and president of Sunrise Aviation, a Part 141 flight school and Cessna Pilot Center at Santa Ana's John Wayne-Orange County Airport (SNA).  Holder of both Master CFI and Master CFI-Aerobatic designations, he represented the Long Beach FSDO (SPM Kathleen O'Brien) and the FAA's Western Pacific Region.

Each year, a General Aviation Awards competition is held on the local, regional and national levels to identify the Aviation Maintenance Technician of the Year, Aviation Safety Counselor of the Year, Avionics Technician of the Year and Certificated Flight Instructor of the Year.  The four national winners each receive an all-expense-paid trip for himself and a guest to AirVenture, the world's largest aviation gathering, in Oshkosh, Wisconsin.  In addition, the winners are provided with a rental car, week-long AirVenture admission and parking passes plus cash, gifts and prizes.  FAA Administrator Marion Blakey presents the actual awards during an evening AirVenture "Theater in the Woods" program. 

The General Aviation Awards Committee would also like to recognize this year's other regional ACSs of the Year:

Joseph R Brigham, a helicopter CFI from Bow, New Hampshire.  Brigham [email protected] represented the Portland FSDO (SPM John Wood) and the FAA's New England Region.

Dennis R Gardisser, a CFI from Lonoke, Arkansas.  Gardisser [email protected] represented the Little Rock FSDO (SPM Jarrett McFarlin) and the FAA's Southwest Region.

Brian L Robbins, a CFI from Columbus, New Jersey.  Robbins [email protected] represented the Philadelphia FSDO (SPM Eileen Iandola) and the FAA's Eastern Region.

John R Scott, a CFI from Denver, Colorado.  Scott [email protected] represented the Denver FSDO (SPM Brian Richardson) and the FAA's Northwest Mountain Region.

John Paul St Peter, a CFI from Detroit, Michigan.  St Peter [email protected] represented the Detroit FSDO (SPM Carol Callan) and the FAA's Great Lakes Region.

James Edward Trusty, a CFI from Old Hickory, Tennessee.  Trusty [email protected] represented the Nashville FSDO (SPM Bob Hill) and the FAA's Southern Region. 


_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _


Additional GA Awards information will follow after the 2005 National CFI, Avionics Technician and Maintenance Technician of the Year are named.  Questions may be addressed to national GA Awards chairperson JoAnn K Hill at 303-485-8136.